SensatioNail Fuse Gelnamel Kit

Since I’m not working right now I’ve had a lot of time on my hands. I tend to get quite bored as the week drags on and I’ve exhausted all my avenues of entertainment. What do I do when I get this bored? I do my nails. It takes time, patience and attention to detail. I can spend half the morning (or night as of late) just doing nails on both my hands and feet. I change the colour of my nails a lot, sometimes it’s because I get bored with the colour, but most of the time it’s because the polish has started to chip. I hate leaving chipped uneven polish on display.

Short wearing polishes wasn’t my only problem. When I had acrylics I’d have a whole range of designs available to me. I could have hand painted flowers or other patterns on whatever nail I chose or all of them if I wanted. They were beautiful and something I would never, ever be able to do on my own. No matter how much I practiced. I don’t have acrylics now but I still want those beautiful patterns I used to get. I looked into different options and the only thing that appealed to me was nail stamping.

Nail stamping is something I’ve wanted to try my hand at for years but I’ve never gotten around to getting the supplies I’ve needed. I was browsing nail art pins on pinterest the other day and I was linked to a nail blog called The Nailasaurus and one of her posts were on nail stamping. Specifically it was about a UK based company called MoYou London that has a huge collection of stamping plates and other stamping equipment. I think I spent two hours just browsing the website before I ordered the plates I wanted. Than it took me another thirty minutes to decide on which plates I was going to get. In the end I purchased three from different collections and a nail colour to stamp with.

Of course with every new thing I want to try I do a lot of research first and look up a lot of written and video tutorials. Nail stamping was no different. One thing that kept popping up was there were a lot of women who were using gel polish along with their stamping. The gel topcoat keeps the design gorgeous for longer periods of time and the gel colour beneath the design allows you to remove the design and try again if you make a mistake without taking off the colour. Gel polish was looking like my next new thing to try. It seemed chip resistant, lasts for nearly two weeks (most of brands) and since you use UV or LED lamps to flash dry them you don’t have to sit around waiting for the polish to dry. The flash dry was what really got me excited.

Since the husband and I were going shopping yesterday I decided to find a cheap gel polish kit to test it out without spending gobs of money if it didn’t work the way I wanted it to. I found this really cute, cheap kit at Dillons from SensatioNail called Fuse Gelnamel. It only cost me $12 and it had a single finger LED lamp along with one colour and all the other things you need to do a simple gel manicure. Since it was a single finger lamp it took me quite a while to do my manicure (and pedicure) but I’m incredibly happy with how it turned out. It has very straight forward and simple instructions. The gel was beautiful and applied smoothly, much nicer than any of my regular polishes. The test is to see how long it stays shiny and chip free.

I’ll be adding photo’s at the end of two weeks, one taken every two days to show how the polish wears. If it lasts even four days I’ll be happy. Next test will be to see how it goes with the stamping once it arrives.

EDIT: I forgot to mention, I only did two coats of the ‘No-no Way’ colour but next time I’ll make sure I do three coats because it wasn’t opaque enough for my liking. You can still see my natural nail at the tip slightly.

Stay inspired,

signature_02

One thought on “SensatioNail Fuse Gelnamel Kit

Leave a Reply

