Waldor Doll – Part I

I woke up this morning around midday, which isn’t all that unusual for me since I moved to the US, and started my day like any other. Bathroom, cleansing and moisturizing my face, vitamins, and breakfast. This difference this morning was that I went ahead and made the Mr. lunch for work so he didn’t have to AND there was a package waiting on the dining room table for me!

Awhile back, even before I moved to the US, I fell in love with the idea of trying my hand at making a Waldorf doll. If you’re not sure what a Waldorf doll is this is the definition I found this on google search:

A Waldorf doll (also called Steiner doll) is a form of doll used in Waldorf education. Made of wool and cotton, using techniques drawing on traditional European doll making, its appearance is intentionally simple in order to allow the child playing with it to improve or strengthen imagination and creativity.

I did a ton of research, like I do with all of my hobbies, and I bought a bunch of books (well two ^.^) and dreamed about the day that I was financially able to get into this new hobby. At the time I was saving to move to the US so no money went to anything that I considered a luxury, doll making was a luxury. Now that the Mr. is making more money it was time to really give this hobby a real try.

The two books I purchased showed me how to make two different styles of Waldorf dolls. The first book by Maricristen Sealey was a much older book and one I found from visiting the second books blog. If that makes sense. Maricristen’s book is Kinder Dolls, and gives you everything you need to start making Waldorf Dolls. The second book, Storybook Toys, written by Jill Hamor is all about making those adorable old fashioned stuffed toys. I’m not entirely sure if her dolls are considered Waldorf Dolls as they aren’t made the traditional way but they’re still gorgeous. I’ve kind of melded both books to get the techniques I need to start my first doll.

The first thing I needed to do was purchase the materials and equipment I needed to make these dolls. This was harder than I thought it would be. I thought my local crafts store would have what I needed, or at least a cheaper variation that I could practice with. No such luck! I’d already surfed the web and found some great sites that had everything I needed, but they were going to be my backup plan if I couldn’t find anything locally. Unfortunately I couldn’t find anything locally so I had to bite the bullet and buy what I needed online. This didn’t turn out to be as painful as I thought it would be. Yes, the items are pricey, and yes I had to pay for shipping, but they’re good quality and exactly what I needed. I got all my materials from Weir Crafts which has an entire section completely dedicated to Waldorf Doll supplies. If anyone wants to make these dolls I would suggest going to this website. They have a nice range and they’re shipping time is incredibly fast. Mine took I little longer because I ordered everything on the 5th, so the day after a holiday, plus is was a Saturday.

I only purchased four items from Weir Crafts, but that was because it was the main items and everything else I could get from Walmart or Michaels. I got the stuffing (bio wool) the doll skin (peach coloured 100% cotton knit) and the inner head tubing (Cotton Gauze) plus I also bought a set of jersey/ball point needles for my machine. All I have to get now to finish off the doll is embroidery floss for the facial features, wool yarn for the hair and some thread to actually put it all together. The thread has to be the same colour, or as close as, to the doll skin plus I think it needs to be upholstery so it’s nice and strong, but I’m still researching that.

Since the Mr. has a day off tomorrow we’re going to be going shopping for food and other supplies so I’ll be getting the thread I need to at least start sewing all the doll parts together. Hopefully by the end of the month the third book I purchased about Waldorf Dolls (another by Maricristen Sealey) will arrive and I continue to do my research.

Stay inspired,

signature_02

Leave a Reply

