Carrot Cake Cupcakes w. Cream Cheese Frosting

In April I posted a recipe I had found in my Amish cookbook for a Carrot Cake  that for me turned out well, if a tiny bit dry. With the Mr birthday coming up soon I asked him what he wanted for his cake. He said it was either a carrot cake or a spice cake. Since I’ve never made a spiced cake before (we don’t have them in Aus) I decided to find another carrot cake recipe.

Since I’d been having so much luck with the food I made from Sally’s blog I went ahead and checked to see if she had a carrot cake recipe. And she did! It looked super easy and super delicious. I still have about two weeks before his birthday, which meant I could do a test batch to make sure it turns out the way I wanted it to. Plus Sally gave oven temps for making the cake into cupcakes, YAY! It’s so much easy to test a cake recipe as cupcakes.

As recipes go this one was very easy and turned out really well. It made a few more cupcakes than it said it would, but that didn’t both me I knew there was going to be a heap more frosting than I actually needed so the more cupcakes the better. The next time I make it I will make sure I just fill the cookie scoop I was using to measure each cupcake out. I like to use my cookie scoops as I get even, equal sized cupcakes that way. Some of the cupcakes I made today are a little bigger and a little smaller, depending on the cupcake. It was more to do with the fact that since I hadn’t made these before I couldn’t really tell what 2/3’s full was, especially since the batter is slightly thicker than normal cupcake batter and there’s a lot of grated carrot that makes it uneven. Doing a second muffin tray of only five cupcakes showed me that just doing one scoop from my #24 cookie scoop creates perfectly formed cupcakes.

When I go to make the Mr cake I will be doubling the recipe and making two 9-inch cakes. I’ll also double the cream cheese frosting so that I can sandwich the two cakes together with frosting and than top it with frosting. I got the Mr to try one cupcakes this morning (he had to try it without frosting as he was heading to work and I hadn’t done the frosting at that time) and he really enjoyed it. Win for me! The day before his birthday I’ll make the cake. Fingers crossed it works out as great as these cupcakes.

Super Moist Carrot Cake/Cupcakes

Ingredients:

Carrot Cake

  • 1 cup (200 grams) light brown sugar, packed (or dark brown sugar)
  • 3/4 cup (180 ml) vegetable oil (or melted coconut oil, or canola oil)
  • 1/4 cup (60 grams) greek yogurt (or regular yogurt, plain or vanilla)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups (250 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups (260 grams) very finely grated carrots
  • 3/4 cup pecan pieces

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 8 ounces (224 grams) cream cheese, softened to room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (115 grams) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 2-2.5 cups (240 – 300 grams) confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons (30 ml) heavy cream (see note for substitutions)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoons salt, or as needed

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Spray 9 or 10inch springform pan with nonstick cooking spray. I do not recommend a regular circle or square pan, as the cake may rise above. Set aside.

Set out the cream cheese for the frosting so it may soften as you make the cake batter.

Make the carrot cake: In a large bowl with a handheld or stand mixer on medium speed, combine the brown sugar and oil. Beat in the yogurt until fully combined – about 60 seconds. Mixture will be gritty and thick. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Mix in the vanilla. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. With a spatula, manually stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until just combined and all flour pockets are gone – do not overmix. Fold in the finely shredded carrots and pecan pieces. Pour into prepared springform pan.

Bake cake for 32-38 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Do not overbake, which will dry out cake. Check the cake at 30 minutes, then again at 32. My cake took exactly 34 minutes. Allow cake to cool completely before frosting.

Make the frosting: beat the softened cream cheese and butter together on medium speed for 2-3 minutes until soft, creamy, and combined thoroughly. Add 2 cups of powdered sugar and beat until thick and combined. Add 2 Tablespoons heavy cream and 2 teaspoons vanilla extract. Beat on medium speed for 2 more minutes. Add more powdered sugar until desired thickness is reached. Add salt to taste. I used 1/8 teaspoon to cut the sweetness.

Store cake in the refrigerator, covered, for up to 5 days.

*I strongly suggest using heavy cream in the cream cheese frosting recipe. Using milk or half-and-half will produce a less creamy and thinner frosting.

*If you’d like to add raisins to the batter, I suggest using 2/3 cup of raisins and 2/3 cup of chopped pecans. If you’d like to only use raisins, I suggest 3/4 cup of raisins.

*This recipe also can be made into 12 cupcakes. Bake time is 17-18 minutes.

Stay inspired,

signature_02

3 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Cupcakes w. Cream Cheese Frosting

    1. I have yet to try them with frosting but they’re super moist and delicious without frosting. I’d definitely urge you to try this recipe at home. I also used the #24 cookie scoop to dollop the frosting on then used the button of the scoop to flatten the dollop slightly.

Leave a Reply

