Skinny Double Chocolate Chip Muffins

I’ve been waiting a while to make this recipe. I really wanted to wait till my mini light studio arrived so that once I had made the muffins I could take some nice photo’s of them. I’m glad I did wait as I did get some nice pictures. They aren’t all that exciting as I don’t have staging items just yet, but for quality (especially lighting) they turned out great.

And of course the muffins turned out rather good too. It’s been a while since I’ve baked muffins and I wanted to find a really good, simple recipe. I found this website ages ago while I was still in Australia and I’m totally in love with it. I think it helps that the website has my name in it, I feel I can trust it more now ^.^ Sally’s Baking Addiction has a whole host of recipes and her posts are in-depth explaining everything she does for the recipes. I really love this website.

The recipe I chose is called Skinny Double Chocolate Chip Muffins. I was kind of skeptical with how well these muffins would turn out, especially with them being “healthy”. There’s also the fact that you don’t use muffin liners. Gasp! I always use muffin liners. Since this was a new recipe that I’d never made before I did everything that Sally told me to do. And surprise, surprise it turned out so good.

Since you use applesauce and honey rather than oil or butter the muffins turn out incredibly moist, plus the mini chocolate chips just kind of melt into the muffin adding even more moistness. When I was pulling out all the ingredients I needed for the recipe I was struck with a descision. I had unsweetened cocoa powder (which the recipe calls for) and dark cocoa powder. Which one should I pick? Should I go with the recipe or try my luck with dark cocoa powder since I love dark chocolate. I sided with the recipe though and picked unsweetened and I’m glad I did, in the end the muffins are deliciously chocolatey and only slightly sweet. Its just the right amount of sweetness to chocolatey-ness.

I’m very happy with how these muffins turned out and I’ll definitely be making them again. You’ll notice that one of the images I took has slightly different lighting than the others. That’s because I’m still testing out my lighting studio. The second photo has no flash whereas the other two have flash. I’m not sure which effect I like better. The flash makes it a little warmer, but gives it a shadow. No flash has no shadow but it’s a little cooler. I’m going to have to keep fiddling with my camera functions.

Skinny Double Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup (133g) unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup (100g) granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup (85g) honey
  • 2 large egg whites (or 1 large egg)
  • 3/4 cup (183g) vanilla Greek yogurt (or regular yogurt, plain or vanilla)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup (62g) all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup (64g) whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup (64g) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup (90g) mini chocolate chips, plus a few more for sprinkling on top

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425F degrees. Spray 12-count muffin pan with nonstick spray. Do not use liners.

In a large bowl, combine applesauce, sugar, honey, egg whites, greek yogurt, and vanilla extract. Whisk them all together until smooth, with no yogurt lumps remaining.

Sift* the flours, cocoa powder, salt, baking soda, and baking powder together. Slowly stir in the wet ingredients, being careful not to overmix. Get any dry pockets of flour out. Fold in the mini chocolate chips. The batter will be a little chunky. This is ok.

Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups – fill them all the way to the top if you can. Bake for 5 minutes at 425F. Keeping the muffins in the oven, reduce the temperature down to 375 and continue to bake for 13 more minutes. Insert a toothpick into the center of one muffin. If it comes out clean, they are done. If not, bake for only 2 more minutes.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool for 3 minutes in the pan, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Makes 12 muffins. Muffins stay fresh in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 5 days. Muffins freeze well up to 3 months: heat up for 45 seconds to thaw.

*Sifting the dry ingredients is optional.

*Why the initial high temperature? See my sky-high muffin dome tricksfor more detail.

Stay inspired,

signature_02

2 thoughts on “Skinny Double Chocolate Chip Muffins

    1. I really like these, they’re so good. We’ve eaten them all already! I’m going to try a few of her other muffin recipes next since my hubby isn’t all that fussed with chocolate flavoured anything, unlike me who is addicted to chocolate.

Leave a Reply

