2 Mother’s Day Desserts

This last week has been quite hectic and a little emotionally draining. Probably the reason why I haven’t posted in a few days, or more likely why I haven’t had anything to post about. The Mr and I have been trying to put money aside so that he can purchase new glasses before he has to renew his license. Unfortunately this means a huge out-of-pocket expense since he’s pretty much blind without his glasses.

Because of this I haven’t been able to buy the ingredients I need to practice my cooking and baking. This doesn’t bother me all that much but it does leave me a little bored and with nothing really to post about. On top of that we’ve had to fork out money for a Vet bill for our little guy Flash. He’s getting older and we knew we wanted to get him snipped before he was 12 months old. Well that was starting to creep up so off to the vet he went. I didn’t think I’d be so upset and worried about him, I’ve had cat’s neutered before, but they’ve all been much older and none of them were as terrified as he was. It didn’t help that he was so little. I just wanted to hug him and so it was all going to be okay. And thankfully it was. He spent a night at the vet’s, something I wasn’t expecting, and he was home early the next morning, back to his old curious self. He’s even been way more affectionate than he usually is.

Now that he’s home safe and sound and I’ve gotten over the 24 hr bug I had yesterday I decided it was time to post again. Thankfully for Mother’s Day I made a dinner and desserts that I can let everyone know about. Bad thing is I spent all day cooking baking and I had been on my feet making sure my mother-in-law didn’t do any of her usual chores, once I’d finished I really didn’t feel like taking pictures of anything.

I did have a few pieces left of the Coffee Walnut Slice that I made so I did a quick click-click-click session with what I had left. So I have pictures of that recipe. I won’t be posting the recipe itself for it though as it’s a recipe that my mother handed down to me and her mother handed down to her. I plan on handing it down to my daughter (if I have one) when she’s old enough. So it’s a family secret that I plan on keeping.

I did bake another dessert which I’ve been looking forward to making for a while. I don’t have any pictures of this one as it was eaten before I could get to it, which I suppose is a good thing as everyone liked it so much. It’s a recipe I got out of my trust Amish cookbook and I will definitely be making this one again. The Strawberry Pie recipe is below as this one is not a family recipe. The Mr liked it so much that he actually asked me to add it as a layer to a cheesecake as the recipe itself only has a small amount of cream cheese, but that’s more to cut through the sweetness of the strawberry jelly topping. I really enjoyed making this one and so very happy with how it turned out.

Strawberry Pie

1 quart strawberries, washed, drained, and hulled
1 cup sugar
3 T. cornstarch
1/2 cup cream cheese, softened
1 baked and cooled pie crust

Save out 2 cups of the choicest berries.

Mash remaining berries until juice is extracted. If necessary, add water n order to make 1 1/2 cups liquid, using all parts of berries (this will be thick and lumpy with mashed berries).

In another bowl, mix together the sugar and cornstarch.

In a large saucepan, bring the berry juice to boiling, gradually stirring in the sugar and cornstarch mixture. Cook over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until boiling. Boil 1 minute, continuing to stir constantly. Cool

Spread the softened cream cheese over the bottom of the cooled, baked pie shell, being careful not to pull up the crust from the bottom of the pan (use your fingers, if necessary). Spread the saved berries over the top of the cream cheese in the pie shell. Pour thickened juice mixture over the berries, evenly distributing the syrup.

Chill at least 2 hours. Top with sweetened whipped cream right before serving.

I’ve found, by surfing the net, that 1 quart ends up being 1.5lbs of strawberries. I weighed the strawberries after I’d washed them, once I’d hulled them I weighed them again and of course added more strawberries as the weight had gone down. I ended up using 2 lbs of strawberries altogether. I probably could have done with just the 1.5lbs as it made a lot of jelly by the end enough that I had about half a cup left over. I also found that I should have chopped the reserved 2 cups of strawberries into small diced chunks rather than just quartering them. With the cream cheese I found you had to be very careful and gentle when spreading it in the base. I actually used a fork and beat the cream cheese, adding it in very small amounts and used the fork to spread. Using a spoon or even a knife just doesn’t work as the cream cheese will stick to the utensil. The Mr told me to beat in a little condensed milk but I wanted to do the recipe exactly as it stated before changing it up. That’s how I usually do recipes, I’ll follow them to a T and then I will change them if I make them again. The pie crust recipe I used came from my Amish book and is just a very basic butter crust. I can’t remember if I’ve posted that recipe before, but I’m sure there are thousands of recipes for Butter Crust online somewhere. If not I will add it as a smaller post later.

The next time I make this recipe I’m actually going to make it for a cheesecake. I have a pre-made Oreo pie base that I want to use and I’m going to try to do myself a Brooklyn-style cheesecake base. What’s that, you ask. Put simply it’s a cheesecake that uses a cake or cookie dough for a base. I’ve found a recipe for the cookie in an ice cream sandwich that I’m going to test out as the base for my cheesecake. Since the Strawberry Pie filling is so thick and actually fills up the entire pie shell I’ll be making two cheesecakes and topping them with just one batch of strawberry jelly. Hopefully it turns out well, and yes I’ll make sure I have pictures for it ^.^

Stay inspired,

Leave a Reply

