Chicken, Baby Spinach & Feta Pizza

It feels like all I’ve been doing lately is baking or cooking and posting it all online! And this post is no different. Since the Mr finished work earlier last night I decided I’d make him our favourite pizza, Chicken, Baby Spinach & Feta. I use the Asian Medley sauce I made the day before as the base sauce for the pizza and I used it to marinate the chicken pieces. We used two different types of cheese, Italian Blend and a crumbled Feta. Usually Feta is the only cheese we use every time on the pizza, every other cheese is whatever we have in the fridge that night.

The dough that I made is from my Amish cookbook and is very, very simple. I usually try to test out different recipes every time we make the pizza. That way I can decide which dough I’ll be using from now on. The Amish pizza dough had a very small rise time and that’s why I decided to use it. I also used Bread Flour instead of all-purpose flour. That was more to do with the fact it was easier to get to the bread flour than the all-purpose at the time I needed the flour ^.^ I will add the recipe for the dough at the end of the post. It’ll be the way I made it, so a few things will be changed from the original recipe.

My pizza isn’t as loaded down with toppings as the Mr. I only have chicken, baby spinach, sauce swirls and cheese. The Mr has all that plus he added diced red onion and roman tomatoes sliced up. Plus instead of a swirl of the Asian Medley sauce, like mine had, the Mr used the Sweet Chili Sauce I made for him. I was intending to taste his pizza, but I was so into my pizza I forgot to ask. I even had two pieces of pizza left of this morning that I ate for breakfast. All in all I think the pizza’s turned out rather well. And we’ll, of course, be making them again. Probably next week.

Quick & Easy Pizza Crust

1 cup warm water
4 1/2 tsp (2 packages) active dry yeast
1 tsp. sugar
1. tsp. Italian Herbs
1/4 tsp. Garlic Powder
1/2 tsp. Salt
2 1/2 cups bread flour, approximately ( I started out with two cups and added more, a quarter cup at a time until the dough was only slightly sticky and smooth )

Combine water, yeast and sugar in a stand mixer with a dough hook attachment (or use a hand held, or even a large bowl to mix by hand). Let sit 5 minutes, allowing yeast mixture to foam. Mix all other ingredients in a small bowl and then add them to the mixer. Mix ingredients together until combined, add more flour if needed. Mix dough for 5-7 minutes or until dough has become smooth and elastic. Remove dough from bowl, spray with cooking spray and place dough back into the bowl, rolling around to coat all of the dough. Cover with a clean towel or cling wrap. Place in a warm, draft free place for twenty minutes or until doubled in size.

Line a large pizza tray (or two small ones) with aluminum foil and press dough to fit the tray. You can also separate dough into two balls and make two smaller pizza’s.

Bake for 7 minutes at 400°. Take out and top with pizza sauce and your favourite toppings and return to the oven to bake for an additional 8-12 minutes or until done to your liking.

Stay inspired,

Leave a Reply

