Amish Brownies

Flipping through my Amish cookbook today I found a ‘misc’ recipe for Brownies. I love to test out brownie recipes always searching for the perfect one. The one that I found today was unlike any other that I had found before. For one you make a Brownie Mix base, kind of like the box brownies you can get and you just add water and eggs. And it doesn’t just make one batch! I had to quarter the recipe because I didn’t have enough to make the huge Brownie Mix, and I’m sure I could get at least two 8×8 brownie batches from the mix I prepared.

The next thing I noticed about this mix it’s once you blend the Brownie Mix with the eggs, vanilla and nuts (or chocolate chips like I used) it’s not a pourable mixture. It’s more like cookie dough than brownie mix. It took a bit of elbow grease to get it into the pan and somewhat level. I was kind of worried it wasn’t going to turn out as from the look of it, it wasn’t going to. But it rose and cooked in the time that it was supposed to. I may have left mine in a little too long as become a little too crunchy. But that was more around the edges than anything else.

Master Brownie Mix

6 cups flour
4 tsp. baking powder
4 tsp. salt
8 cups sugar
1 8-oz. can of unsweetened backing cocoa
2 cups shortening

In a large bow, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Add the sugar and cocoa and mix again. Add the shortening and work with a pastry cutter until shortening has been well incorporated and the mixture resembles coarse cornmeal. Place in an airtight container or large plastic storage bags. Store in a cool, dry place. Date the container and use within 3 months.

Brownies

2 eggs, beaten
1 tsp. vanilla
2 1/2 cups of Master Brownie Mix
1/2 cup chopped nuts (or chocolate chips)
powdered sugar (I didn’t use)

Grease and flour an 8×8-inch baking dish. In a medium bowl, combine the eggs, vanilla, and Master Brownie Mix. Beat until smooth. Stir in nuts. Pour into prepared pan and bake at 350° for 30-35 minutes. Cool before cutting. Sprinkle top with powdered sugar when ready to serve.

Stay inspired,

3 thoughts on “Amish Brownies

    1. You’re very welcome. These brownies do get crunchier as the days wear on, but hey brownies are supposed to be eaten in one sitting right ^.^

Leave a Reply

