Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

After a long hiatus from baking I decided that I would mess up the freshly cleaned kitchen and give another recipe from my Amish Cookbook a crack. Since I didn’t want to go out and get any ingredients I had to make sure that I found a recipe that I had everything in the house already. Which means I made a Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting.

I have never made a Carrot Cake before, but I absolutely adore eating it. The recipe I used didn’t have a picture and I’ve found that all the recipes in my Amish cookbook are very … simplistic. Especially with the instructions. With this recipe I found some of the ingredient measurements were a little confusing. Especially since I’m Australian and the cookbook is obviously American. Measurements tend to be slightly different, not enough to make things really difficult, but enough that you have to think about it.

I think the cake turned out so well, compared to some that I’ve baked before, has a lot to do with the cake pan I used. I absolutely adore the USA Pans bread pan I bought a few months back and for my birthday I was given a cake pan (9×13) and a brownie pan (8×8). I’ve used the brownie pan but not the cake pan, so I tested that one today and oh-my-god it worked like magic. If I had to use only one brand of pans for the rest of my life, USA Pans would be that brand. You don’t even have to grease, flour or line the pans no matter what you’re making. The groves molded into the pans not only give it equal heating but also make it pretty non-stick. I did have to use my cake leveler to make the top completely flat, but that was more me than the cake itself. I opened the oven before I should have and the middle sunk. Bad me!

I would suggest anyone who likes Carrot Cake to give this recipe a go, the frosting is delicious and I think I overloaded on just licking the spatula I used to frost the cake.

Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Cake Batter
2 Cups Flour
2 Cups Brown Sugar
1 tsp. Salt
2 tsp. Cinnamon
2 tsp. Baking Soda
4 Eggs
1 1/2 Cups Oil
2 Cups grated Carrots

Cream Cheese Frosting
1/2 Cup (113g)  Butter, softened
1x8oz (226g) pkg Cream Cheese, softened
2 Cup Powdered (Icing) Sugar
3 tsp. Vanilla
1-2 Cups Chopped Walnuts (2 cups if you’re cutting the cake in half and sandwiching frosting in the middle)

Cake
Mix together the flour, brown sugar, salt, cinnamon, and baking soda. Add eggs and oil and blend thoroughly. Add grated carrots and mix well. Pour batter into a greased 9×13 inch baking dish and bake at 350° for 30 minutes. Allow cake to cool completely before frosting.

Frosting
Meanwhile, prepare frosting. Cream together the butter, cream cheese, powdered sugar, and vanilla until smooth and creamy. Frost the cooled carrot cake and scatter the walnuts over the top.

I did find that this recipe ended up being slightly drier than a regular, store bought Carrot Cake and I found out from my Mother-In-Law that was because this recipe does not call for pineapples. Colour me shocked, I had no idea Carrot Cake had pineapple in it! Now that I do I’m going to go searching for recipes similar to this one that have pineapples in it and tweak this one. Still I’m very happy with how this turned out.

Stay inspired,

 

 

 

One thought on “Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

