Storybook Toys – Jill Hamor

Since I knew I was getting a brand spanking new sewing machine for Christmas (or at least I was hoping to) I’ve been looking at projects I can do using said machine. For the last six months, maybe even longer, I’ve been researching how to make Waldorf dolls, they’re also called Kinder Dolls. They’re the cutest little dolls and it didn’t seem to difficult to me. The only problem with these dolls … they’re faces creep me out! They’ve got tiny little embroidered spots for eyes and a small line for a mouth. That’s it, no embroidered nose, no eyebrows or lashes for the eyes. To me that’s just creepy, but it’s the way they’re supposed to look so that children learn to use they’re imaginations to create faces for the dolls.

When I was searching for tutorials on how to attach the hair to the dolls I found a blog that showed the type of doll I wanted to make. They were similar to Waldorf dolls but they had fully embroidered faces and gorgeous hair. And not only does Jill Hamor, the author of the blog, give tutorials on the website she’s released a book called “Storybook Toys” that has 16 soft toy projects that were inspired by toys from 1940’s.

I received a $25 Barnes & Noble gift card from parents in law for Christmas and I used all of it purchasing this book (plus Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia). They both arrived today and OMG! I’m totally in love with this book. I mean I was expecting to see a few more images for how to sew the doll parts together, but I think that has more to do with the fact that I’ve never used a pattern to sew a project together before. Every other technique that is used in the book is explained and pictured very, very well. I’m very happy with this purchase and I would suggest anyone who wants to start making children’s toys to have a look at Jill Hamor‘s blog and her book. It’s a must!

7591904266_f5bf9e83e2_c Storybook Toys: Sew 16 Projects from Once Upon a Time * Dolls, Puppets, Softies & More

Kindle the imagination with these loveable handmade fabric toys! Inspired by vintage 1940s patterns, projects include dolls, softies, pillows, puppets, and little girl’s handbag. Learn toy-making tips to give your creation personal style and a sweet disposition. Author Jill Hamor gives ideas for involving children in the process to teach them basic sewing skills. Customize any project to fit your skill level and time commitment, and have fun making outfits for your dolly from your favorite fabrics, scraps, or even upcycled bits from old clothes. Share the love of handmade with your whole family…the young and the young at heart!

  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: C&T Publishing (December 16, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1607055503
  • ISBN-13: 978-1607055501

Available @ Barnes & Noble and Amazon (so far that’s where I’ve found it, I’d suggest googling)

Leave a Reply

