Practice Kusudama

I was searching for paper online this morning, looking for an antique style parchment with text printed over it for my Kusudama flowers and wasn’t having any luck. I’m not entirely sure what made me think of this idea, but somewhere along the line I thought of buying a cheap, old, book from the local book exchange and tearing out the pages to fold into the flowers. I wasn’t sure it would work or if I was going to be able to find a book that had the right colouring and text size, but I thought I’d give it a go anyway.

Instead of waiting till I was in the US to find the book I went for a walk to my local book exchange and bought an old, worn copy of the Amityville Horror (a book I love and already have a copy of) and went about making a flower from some of the pages. It actually turned out quite well in colour and size. It’s a bit rough as I have already packed away all of my art supplies and I was only using what little we had in the house. Other than that I think it will work perfectly for my origami bouquet. Now to see what B thinks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

