Better than the Last

The-Bourne-Legacy-poster-2Usually when it comes to movies I’m like most people, sequels can never be as good as the original movie. But there are times when this rule doesn’t apply. And it especially doesn’t apply when you see the sequel without having seen the original (which makes the sequel the original if you’ve never seen the original lol in some warped way). Most of my friends know I’m an action junkie, I love action movies. The more outlandish the better. Basically the more explosions I see the happier I am. They also know I love spy movies, it has everything you could want in a movie, hot guy, action, gun fire, hand-to-hand combat, they usually have a love interest and you spend the whole movie (if its done well) trying to figure out what’s going on. Unfortunately, The Bourne Trilogy, is one spy movie franchise I never got into it. I’m not sure why, I just could never accept Matt Damon in the role of Jason Bourne. This dislike has recently changed though, thanks to Jeremy Renner’s portrayal of Aaron Cross in the newest Bourne movie, The Bourne Legacy. One viewing of the trailer before the movies release and I was on the edge of my seat waiting. And it didn’t disappoint. This was one of those warp occasions where I saw the last movie before the first. Therefore I found the last movie ten times more entertaining then the previous three. Don’t get me wrong if the latest movie had come first it wouldn’t have been as good, you wouldn’t have understood the significance of Jason Bourne, Treadstone or Blackbriar. Yes, I ended up going back and watching the trilogy after watching Legacy. I still think Legacy is much better than the rest of the franchise. To be honest I think it has more to do with Jeremy Renner then anything else. I’ve seen him in quite a few different roles and he switches them up so seamlessly that you can’t help but believe that he’s really a bank robber or part of an EOD team or even a bow and arrow wielding superhero. Its completely effortless to accept him as an enhanced black ops agent in Legacy. I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone, they’ll thoroughly enjoy it. I’ll admit I’ve got a bit of a celeb crush on JR now because of this movie ^.^

Leave a Reply

